Investigatory Powers Commissioner

Under the terms of the Investigatory Powers Act 2016, the Investigatory Powers Commissioner, Sir Brian Leveson, and his Judicial Commissioners are responsible for overseeing the use of investigatory powers by public authorities which include law enforcement, the intelligence agencies, prisons, local authorities and other government agencies (e.g. regulators). In total over 600 public authorities and institutions have investigatory powers.

The Technology Advisory Panel (TAP)

The Act requires the Investigatory Powers Commissioner to appoint a Technology Advisory Panel.  The terms of reference of the Panel, and its powers, are set out in Sections 246 to 248 of the Act.

I was the initial chair of the Technology Advisory Panel.  In 2022 I was succeeded by Dame Muffy Calder.